top of page

Impressions from the DNP Fall Meeting by Sara Jane

To bring light to the experiences of attendees of their meeting, the Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) of APS, have created a compendium of their stories in the form of a diary. This includes entries such as:

" Thursday 10:00 a.m.

Eric said my talk went fine and Matt said I looked very professional. Still, I feel terrible... I am disappointed that my advisor didn’t turn up but much worse was this creepy guy in the front row. He stared at my ankles the ENTIRE TIME! I would walk from one side to the other and his eyes would follow my ankles. I am wearing a skirt below the knees and normal flat shoes, so I don’t understand his focus. It was creepy and I felt so vulnerable. "

By sharing these stories problems can be identified and hopefully it can result in some insight on how to create a more welcoming climate for all scientists.

Read the full compendium here: https://www.aps.org/units/dnp/allies/diary.cfm?utm_source=Units&utm_campaign=eb26fc3e98-DNP+030819&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_a5eb4215e8-eb26fc3e98-107025881

************************************************************************

If anyone reading this has experienced similar indidents at McGill the Office for Sexual Violence Response, Support and Education (OSVRSE) is a resource that you can find here:

https://www.mcgill.ca/osvrse/

They offer information and workshops but also ofefr support and can take disclosures concering all type of sexual violence.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page